stay local. stay real.


Toll Free: 1.800.663.0298
You are here: Home » Camosun Chargers Win Awards

Camosun Chargers Win Awards

CHARGERSLOGOblue_whitebackgroundLast Thursday night I had the wonderful opportunity to attend and present at the Camosun College Chargers annual awards night. As with previous years it was a great way to review the incredible year both the teams and student athletes had. It was mentioned that Accent Inns has sponsored the Chargers for 11 years now. Wow! What an honour it has been for our company and certainly for myself (I think I’ve only missed one of the awards banquets).
Once again the MC’s for the evening were Mira Laurence and Jordan Cunningham of CTV Vancouver Island. Not only do these two news and sports media folks know their Chargers but I must say….Billy Crystal watch out, they are headed for the Oscars. They had us laughing all night long. But of course the night wasn’t just about laughs and reviewing the past season but to celebrate some of the awe inspiring efforts put in by the the students, the coaches and the teams as a whole. It should be noted that the Chargers have some of the most dedicated and caring  coaches anywhere. I’m glad we also had the chance to applaud the behind the scenes staff. Special thanks from Accent Inns go to  Graham Matthews (Athletic Director) and  Bonita Joe (Marketing & Communications Officer) for being so awesome to work with and for their sincere focus on helping the students achieve their goals. So read below for an excerpt from the Charger blog listing the many award winners and their achievements. 
Your Faithful Supporter,
John Espley (Accent Inns)
GO Chargers!
Student-athletes, coaches and supporters of the Camosun College Chargers gathered at the Harbour Towers Hotel this evening to recognize the achievements of the College’s student-athletes and coaches at the Chargers’ 18th Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony.
Fourth-year wing Caitlin Marshall (St. Albert, AB) from the Chargers women’s basketball team earned the prestigious President’s Cup award for her outstanding achievements in academics and athletics.

2011-12 President’s Cup Recipient, Caitlin Marshall IMG_0348

Ms. Marshall scored a perfect 9.0 grade point average in her Fall 2011 full-time program of studies. Described as an accomplished athlete, a respected leader and a model student, Ms. Marshall earned several awards for her outstanding efforts this season including the Women’s Basketball Team Leadership Award, a PacWest 2nd Team All-Star Award and the SIRC CCAA Academic All-Canadian Award.
“In an ideal world, we would love to see Caitlin continue on with the Chargers and play out her fifth and final year of intercollegiate eligibility, but her focus next year will be strictly academic, as she completes her degree in Camosun’s Centre for Sport and Exercise Education Bachelor of Athletic and Exercise Therapy Program,” stated John Boraas, Camosun College Vice President of Education.”
Andy Inglis (Red Deer, AB) from the Chargers men’s volleyball program was the recipient of the Linda Henderson Award for Excellence for demonstrating commitment, strength of character and a high level of proficiency in the sport of volleyball.

The fourth-year 6’5” leftside hitter transferred to Camosun this past Fall from Red Deer College and is enrolled in the College’s Centre for Sport and Exercise Education Bachelor of Sport and Fitness Leadership Degree Program.
“Andy is one of the most dynamic players in the league,” said presenter Linda Henderson who took time off from her duties as Director of Athletics and Recreation at NAIT in Edmonton to present the award in person. “He has a high volleyball IQ and his passion for the game and desire to win and be successful are second to none.”
Sponsored by Accent Inns, the PacWest Academic Excellence Award was presented to six Chargers student-athletes for achieving academic honours over a minimum period of one full academic year and 27 credit hours. Recipients from the women’s basketball team included Rosie Bergen (University Transfer), Haley Carmichael (University Transfer) and Anya Weare (Environmental Technology). From men’s basketball were Jordan Elvedahl (Bachelor of Athletic & Exercise Therapy Degree) and Blake Mansbridge(Associate of Arts Degree) and from men’s volleyball, Stephen Richter (Business Administration).

IMG_0339  IMG_0341  IMG_0343 IMG_0344 IMG_0342
Eleven individuals were recognized for their outstanding academic and athletic performances at the Provincial and National levels. Sponsored by Wilson’s Transportation, the CCAA and PacWest individual awards were presented to:
James Blandford, Men’s Basketball
PacWest Rookie of the Year
PacWest 2nd Team All-Star
PacWest All-Rookie Team
PacWest Athlete of the Week
Elizabeth Davis, Women’s Volleyball
PacWest 2nd Team All-Star
Jordan Elvedahl, Men’s Basketball
SIRC CCAA Academic All-Canadian
PacWest 2nd Team All-Star
Hilary Graham, Women’s Volleyball
PacWest Athlete of the Week
Carly Hilliard, Women’s Volleyball
PacWest All-Rookie Team
Jared Hundza, Men’s Golf
PacWest Athlete of the Week
Garrett Marcellus, Men’s Volleyball
PacWest 2nd Team All-Star
PacWest Athlete of the Week
Caitlin Marshall, Women’s Basketball
SIRC CCAA Academic All-Canadian
PacWest 2nd Team All-Star
John Randle, Men’s Golf
PacWest Coach of the Year
Alex Sadowski, Men’s Volleyball
PacWest Rookie of the Year
PacWest All-Rookie Team
Trevor Scheurmann, Men’s Basketball
PacWest All-Rookie Team
Five student-athletes were acknowledged for their Team Leadership throughout the year. Among those were Brandon Chan (men’s basketball), Hilary Graham (women’s volleyball), Garrett Marcellus (men’s volleyball), Caitlin Marshall (women’s basketball) and Kevin Walz (men’s golf).
Five additional student-athletes were recognized as Team Rookie. Those included Kelsey Clarke from Seaquam Secondary, Delta (women’s volleyball), Oak Bay grad Drake Downer (men’s basketball), Ella Goldschmid from Mount Doug (women’s basketball), Belmont grad Alex Sadowski (men’s volleyball) and from Vernon Secondary, Brady Stead (men’s golf).
A final group of Camosun athletes were honoured for motivating others through demonstrating outstanding character and a positive attitude. The Team Inspiration award was presented to Taylor Fedosoff (women’s volleyball), Jeremy Finn (men’s volleyball),Jared Hundza (men’s golf), Anya Weare (women’s basketball) and Rulon Schmidt(men’s basketball).
Student-athletes graduating from the Chargers athletics program were also recognized for their valued contributions, included were Denis Boyd, Jon Jorstad and Davis Prochfrom men’s volleyball, Blake Mansbridge and Anya Weare from Chargers basketball and Justin Deol, Jordan Krulicki and Kevin Walz from men’s golf.
“Our student-athletes and coaches worked extremely hard this year and I’m very proud of their achievements,” said Camosun Recreation and Athletics Coordinator Graham Matthews. “We look forward to another great season in 2012-13!”


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

Show Tags


Leave a Reply


Book Now